1 of 2
1
Showcase - DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos
Posted: 05 December 2012 02:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

Hello,

i want to show you my, still in progress, table.
Originally i built a FTIR build with a projector, but than i was unsatisfied with the image quality.
So i decided to change it to a DSI LCD build.

During the whole process i have taken pictures which i would like to share with you.
It’s a Dropbox Albume, which i will continously update.

https://www.dropbox.com/sc/wquyeqhfdafzez3/5Mbi5Gi6Js

Update: 12.01.2013
I am right now dissassembling a 32” LCD from Funai.
Many pictures were added into the albume.

Update: 15.12.2012
Changed from TouchInjector to EcoTuioDriver as it’s working as a service. (Thanks to saivajr)
Managed to get CCV 1.5 working under Windows 8 with PS3 Camera. (Thanks to saivajr)
First Videos of a working FTIR Table were added in the albume

Update: 05.12.2012
Temporary Table for tests build.
LED rails are done.
Tinkerman Method on the drafting paper.
PS3 Camera succesfully modified.

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Joined  2011-06-10
Total Posts:  157
Member

Adjust the brightness and Exposure of your cam.
Try to play with your settings, I think the smooth it’s too high try to disable it, put up your amplify and less blur maybe 10, 9.

And I recommend you too to buy a good bandpass instead of the floppy disk.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

Actuallt ccv 1.5 does work on windows 8… I’ve been using it for weeks...unfortunately I can’t remember the whole proccess to make it work. Btw I had the same problem with my ps3 eye. in ccv i couldnt get the quality of the cl eye test program.. you have to tweak your xml files from ccv… if you want I can upload mine for you to try if they will work.. also you have to give permissions to the folder so your changes can be saved.. or you ‘ll have to calibrate every time you restart the application…

 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 10:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

@axer

Tanks to your Tweaks i managed to get some Blobs in CCV 1.4.
Even managed to calibrate for the first time =)
But the Blobs are still very poor. I’ll try to get CCV 1.5 working.

@saivajr
I would really appreciate it, if you could share your xml with me.
Another Question: Are you using MultiTouchVista or BSQ Simulator on Windows 8?
What folder do i need to give permission? The CCV 1.5 installation folder i think, right?

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

Another reason for your poor blobs may be due to the very narrow 12 degree beam angle of your LEDs.  With it so narrow the light is not bouncing around enough inside the acrylic and is mostly just passing straight through it.  You ideally want to use LEDs around 30-60 degrees for best results.  Are you LEDs perpendicular (straight at) the sides of your acrylic?  If so you should tilt them up or down to make the angle to the acrylic closer to 45 degrees.  That should increase the blob intensity and make tracking in CCV better.

Also, you’re using 875nm LEDs which is a very unusual wavelength.  It will be very hard to find a good band pass filter to work with those LEDs as a result.

 Signature 

MT Website - A Collection of the Most Relevant Multitouch Info From These Forums
Multitouch Blog
Multitouch Parts Store - Buy Infrared Touch Frames (No Camera Needed!), Complete Modified Cameras and DIY Upgrade Kits, m12/CS Mounts, m12/CS Lenses, Infrared Lasers, LEDs, etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 01:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

I actually used touch injector you can find it in the forum.. I ‘ll post the files by the night!

 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 03:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

@ saivajr
That would be great!
EDIT: Thank you very much for the tip with Touch Injector! Works great!

@peau
I was afraid that those LEDs wouldn’t be perfect. But 200 IR LED for only 15 €, was so cheap xD
The Idea with tilting them up or down, is very good. I’ll try it out! Thanks in advance.

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 December 2012 09:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

Sorry but I was in a hurry before.. I uploaded my xml files.. get them from here. But I think ccv 1.5 has differences in the xml files than 1.4! I can make the same settings in 1.4 and upload those files If these don’t work.. Also try installing ccv 1.4 and ccv 1.5 on top of it on the same folder… That’s what I’ve done atleast.. Somehow after a lot of tries and different configurations it worked. Let us know if it works!smile

File Attachments
xml.rar  (File Size: 10KB - Downloads: 310)
 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 December 2012 09:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

First of all. Thanks to everybody here. Great community.

Yeah, you were right. The xml files for 1.4 are different.
Now i try to get ccv 1.5 working. Just playing around a little bit.
Tried to install it on top of 1.4, but didn’t really got a result here.
When somebody has a hint on how to get 1.5 working, that would be great!

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 December 2012 01:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-04-26
Total Posts:  12
New Member

Hey outcrash. I had the same problem with CCV1.5 on Windows 8, but I figured out it was because of the PS3 Eye drivers that are packaged with CCV 1.5.

Here is the post with the details, but basically, I installed the newest drivers and sdk from code labs and swapped out single and multicam dll file in the CCV folder with the new ones. The latest drivers support Windows 8, which the ones with CCV 1.5 don’t.

http://nuigroup.com/forums/viewthread/14464/

Once you get that working, you can change the camera’s exposure and gain in settings easy enough.

 Signature 

My Adventures Building an LCD DSI Table

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2012 08:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

Hey Lenggo

i also found this Thread.
Unfortunatelly, the newest Version 1.6.3.0339 of CL Eye SDK don’t provide those single and multi dll files anymore :(
There is noe BIN Folder in the installation directory.

I tried to find an old version of CL Eye SDK (V1.4.0.0230 as in the Thread you posted), but i only found a 1.2.0.1008 version.
But those dll. files didn’t worked.

Can anyone share those dll files? Or am i just too blind to find these in the newest version of the SDK? xD

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 December 2012 10:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

Ok here is the one I use… Try uninstalling other versions of cl eye and installing this… also here is my dlls I don’t wich one is beeing used.. there were all in the main folder of ccv!
Hope it helpssmile

File Attachments
cl_eye-ps3_dlls.rar  (File Size: 5770KB - Downloads: 332)
 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2012 09:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

Thank You saivajr!

CCV 1.5 is working, Touch Injector is working.
Calibration worked. My first experienced with the table were fantastic!

I’ll post my first progresses in the first post when the Videos are ready.

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 December 2012 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

Glad to hear I could help… I am actually new to this forum myself… I built my table the last 3 months… Also if someone knows how to run ccv as a service and actually work it would be great… I have mine open after the startup and I use an application to hide it from the taskbar… but it’s not that usefull… That way I cannot power on my pc using a password if I dont have a keybord!

 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Rank
Joined  2012-10-30
Total Posts:  23
New Member

I tried to install CCV as a service under Windows 8 using winserv.
That way it didn’t even started after the reboot.

Then I tried it with this advice from this Thread:
http://nuigroup.com/S=f9bd04158881f0e4ee1dc5055eea3f3afe53d7f8/forums/viewthread/14316/

It seems, that CCV is starting, as i can see CCV as a service running in the TaskManager.
But the PS3 Camera has no red light, and i don’t get TUIO to the Touch Injector.

 Signature 

DSI LCD 32” with many pictures and videos:

http://nuigroup.com/S=e0ec20a79ebf6558e095464ab47332248597bb01/forums/viewthread/14648/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 10 December 2012 02:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2012-10-13
Total Posts:  37
New Member

ok what happens with my ps3 is that if I do a system rebbot the camera won’t be recognised unless I unplug and plug again… when I shutdown my computer completely and then start over the camera is recognised and my calibration settings are saved… BUT in both cases when I try to run ccv as a service..(and I have tried with a lot of programs and different configurations) the ps3 cam is binded by the service and I cannot use ccv as an app unless I turn off the service but as you said no tuio and no red light… too bad..!

 Signature 

Proud FTIR Table owner..:D

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1