Can I use Plasma screen? 
Posted: 23 November 2007 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2007-09-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

Hi!

I am wondering if anybody has tried to use a plasma screen for multitouch? I have seen examples in this forum that people have tried lcd screens but not plasma. Is there anything with the plasma technology that makes it unusable for multitouch?

Best regards

/Mijo

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 November 2007 01:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-01-08
Total Posts:  1008
Member

Yes I believe you can, some people did it, however I haven’t seen anybody here on the forum actually showing it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 January 2008 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-01-16
Total Posts:  12
New Member

surely this wld be a great way to do multitouch wldnt it? theres no need for a back light and ud still get a great image. or are there barriers to the IR getting thru?
r there any FTIR plasma screen projects on this site?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 February 2008 06:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-03-29
Total Posts:  32
New Member

If anyone tries to use a plasma screen, dont ever lay it down horizontally, the screen could be damaged by doing that. It has to do with two layers of glass that shouldnt touch each other, which might occur if it is stored or used horizontally.

Profile