42” DSI Table
Posted: 14 August 2010 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2010-08-12
Total Posts:  13

Hello everyone!

This is my first post and I’m fairly new to multitouch but I have been lurking around for a few months (sound familiar?) and I think I’m ready to start building! smile Anyway here’s my idea: (not very ambitious because it’s only my first project)

DSI Project
Box dimensions: ~44"x32"x20"
Viewing area: ~36"x24" (about 42” diagonal)
Projector: BenQ MP772 ST
LEDs: 850nm IR LED 5meter reel from environmentallights.com
Cameras: Two PS3eyes in custom housing (PeauProductions)
Computer: Hopefully a Mac Mini

Acrylic would go like this:
||=Rear projection 7D513====||
||===Endlighten XL 0.315"===|| < 0.5” track from environmentallights

Will having layers on top of of enlighten affect the blobbage? Did I miss anything?

If anyone finds problems in this setup, feel free to point ‘em out wink Thanks in advance!

Posted: 14 August 2010 04:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-07-01
Total Posts:  20

I’m just finishing up the case on my 42” DSI podium.  I would put a piece of AR over top of the RP.  AR is pretty cheap and the RP scratches really easily.  You shouldn’t have any problems with seeing blobs as long as you polish the Endlighten.

Posted: 14 August 2010 06:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-08-12

Thanks for the info!
How will fiducials work with this setup? Will the camera be able to see through all this acrylic?
Oh and sorry for the noob question but what is AR? wink

Posted: 14 August 2010 06:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

Looks good, and as Grimm mentioned, top layer of AR acrylic to protect the RP material.  Make sure you account for about a 2-3 inch space from the point where the edge of the Endlighten is and where you start touching the image.  This is because the LEDs are super bright at the edge and this can mess up your calibration.

Signature