1 of 2
Surface2TUIO v. 1.0
Posted: 29 June 2012 12:22 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2010-02-09
Total Posts:  19

Surface2TUIO is an app I built using Dominik Schmidts C# TUIO server, and Michael Zoellners simple Surface 2.0 project.

I’ve extended the C# server to include the byte tags from Surface 2 (and 1 actually, they’re the same), with orientation. Michaels project has been used as a starting point for me, since I have no past experience with Visual Studio. Somehow though, I managed to slap this together.

The reason for making this, is the pure fact that I wanted to develop my touch-apps in AS3. Running flash on the SUR40 with Windows Touch is extremely sensitive. There’s no finger recognition, no tag support, and the pointers themselves are twitchy. This app uses the underlying tracking system from the Surface 2 SDK, recognizing both fingers and tags, and excluding odd blobs as pointers.

I’d really like to thank both Michael and Dominik for making their respective projects so (relatively) easy to modify. There’s still a lot to be done with this, but right now it does exactly what I need it to. If anyone wants to extend it even further, just send me a message.

-------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: This is for the Samsung SUR40 Surface 2.0 enabled touch-table. It may work on other Surface 2.0 compliant devices, but I offer no support on this whatsoever. It currently sends the data through OSC. It has been tested ON the table, running a Flash AS3 AIR app with the AS3_TUIO and/or GestureWorks 3.1.7 libraries. It currently supports 2DCur with ID’s and location (X, Y), and also the MS Surface 2.0 byte tags with ID’s, Tag ID’s, Location (X, Y) and Orientation.

If anyone want’s the VS2010 project files, I’ll have to get a hold of both Michael and Dominik before I release anything. As soon I get an OK from both, I’ll link up the project here.