2 of 14
2
Poll
Have you made an MTmini yet?
Yes and it’s awesome! :) 145
Yes, but it’s not what I expected. 24
No, but I want to! :) 72
No, it looks useless. 10
Total Votes: 251
You must be a logged-in member to vote
MTmini - How to Make a Cheap Multitouch Pad
Posted: 01 May 2008 02:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Very clever Djkz, great to see you on the forums too. This thread MUST be working tongue wink

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2008 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-01-15
Total Posts:  5
New Member
djkz - 01 May 2008 01:16 AM

if you have a glass or a matte glass desk, you can build a multitouch-pad right into it using this method!

pix:
2455404563_4c4ec39d06_o.jpg
box taped to the bottom of the desk

2455405499_6b407e52a9_o.jpg
top view of the box

if your desk is transparent i imagine you will need a sheet of paper for filtering over the box, mine is matte so it worked right out of the box (so to speak)

hah! thats exactly what I did. After I read this, I was excited to try it out. I had everything except a clear surface to work with, so I looked around my room for something that might work, and immediately realized that my desk would work great! I am using a piece of tracing paper as a diffuser.

I have gotten smoke working, and noticed that you said that the other flash apps are coming soon, so I was wondering why they are not currently working?

Thanks for posting this!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2008 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

That’s too great! I love it djkz. Nice seein’ ya on IRC =)

@ hebnern: The flash applications are working, but in effort to not get bombarded with e-mails asking how to set them up, I’m trying to get everything into one package with instructions on settings things up. It’ll be ready soon. It’ll include touchlib version (that doesn’t requiqre editing config.xml file) and a bunch of demos).

If you want to be ahead of the gang, find FLOSC on the forum. You start OSC.exe (in the touchlib folder), start FLOSC, and lastly load up the flash application (you need to set global security settings on the current swfs in order to work right). You can see more info here: http://nuigroup.com/forums/viewthread/1577/

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2008 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-01-15
Total Posts:  5
New Member

Thanks, I have been messing with FLOSC, but it hasnt been working, so I figured that it was settings related. That thread looks like it should clear it up. Thanks!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2008 03:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-05-01
Total Posts:  2
New Member

Hi guys,
yesterday I made a box with N95 as a webcam. I used a mabiola webcam usb software for mobile and PC to make N95 a basic webcam. Everything works fine. I could use a bluetooth connection to make a box fully wireless but the data transfer isn’t good as a USb connection…
Whatever. I’ve took some pics to show us and a short video, so here it is:

7232f931503ae7e8.jpg
b46ad7a7125bb264.jpg
d00be30e254289db.jpg
29dd67fab6a3b0b0.jpg
228126935720b6da.jpg
6a47477ba7edd34a.jpg
821170a398ae8ef1.jpg

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 May 2008 03:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

rodak69! Glad to see you here! I haven’t forgotten about you. I’ll be posting some of your stuff on my blog when I get things better organized for everyone. =)

Again, great job!

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2008 03:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-02-16
Total Posts:  81
New Member

cerupcat thanks for sharing! I saw they even picked it up at the iphone club. Really impressive!

 Signature 

Visit http://www.crystalminds.net/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2008 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2007-11-04
Total Posts:  85
New Member

Awesome cerupcat!
your vid turning to 60k in 3 days!!!!! smile Really nice pub.
I went through your webpage as its finnally not tottaly flooded and theres something that bothered me, even if its not my business. I actually can read your name and webpage, but i cant see nowhere, someone else name. I Think its should be great to put Soft devlopers name ex. David Wallin name for touclib or a link to is webpage. Dont take it bad its simply a constructive critic. Your vid is a grest thing, I think it will bring some people here. More cool soft to try… smile

Have a nice day
Chris

 Signature 

My setup Description
My Website with video reviews of soft! UPDATED!
Sorry for my bad english, Im french!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2008 06:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

Hey Christopher, yeah I agree. I haven’t had time to put everything up yet. Things have been a bit hectic the past few days. I’ve added some credit/links. wink

I’m not looking for credit, im looking to get more people to nuigroup wink Unfortunatley, many of the articles writen don’t even link to nuigroup or myself. Thanks for the critic.

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 May 2008 09:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-04-30
Total Posts:  612
Elite

Heh, this Cardboard box thingy is genius. I will build one to make testing my apps easier.

 Signature 

MT4j - Multi-Touch for Java!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2008 11:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-05-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

I build one yesterday. It works very smooth with the smoke demo but i have problems with the touchlib config.  I didn’t get a result from the sc,hp backgroundremove3 and rectify4 windows. It would be great if somebody could help me to solve this problem
I make a video and some pics:
Video

Image Attachments
S6001465.JPGS6001468.JPGConfig mistake.jpgS6001466.JPG
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2008 11:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

Looks great Exer! When config start up, Press ‘b’ to capture the background. Then you should see your fingers in the other windows. wink

By the way, your video says “ This video has been protected” and is set to private so we can’t see it.

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2008 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-05-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

Ok, thank you for your help. You should now be able to watch the video.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2008 12:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2007-11-04
Total Posts:  85
New Member

Hi cerupcat!
I understand, it seems a little crazy! After all the work you’ve done here you surely diserve this attention. I’m really sorry the articles arent pointing here or to your website. I hate those suckers! I think the result will be great anyway!

Chris

 Signature 

My setup Description
My Website with video reviews of soft! UPDATED!
Sorry for my bad english, Im french!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 May 2008 09:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-02-10
Total Posts:  55
New Member

Hmm I tried your config file on my computer, it crashes TUIO.
I then copied only the FilterGraph section and the invert module doesn’t appear ?

 Signature 

Nat (Flipo on IRC)

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 14
2