1 of 10
1
Nasa World Wind Plugin
Posted: 18 May 2008 08:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Hey everyone,

Has anyone seen this link:  http://oldspeak.net/worldwind/

WorldWind Multitouch Plugin

This is a rudimentary, stub, C# WorldWind plugin which listens for multitouch input using the TUIO protocol, and interprets a basic set of finger gestures to control WorldWind. Supported gestures are single finger drag to spin the globe, pinch and spread to zoom, and two-finger rotate to roll the camera.

You’ll need:

* NASA WorldWind 1.4
* A working installation of touchlib or reacTIVision

I’ve been trying to get this Plugin for Nasa world wind to work but I keep getting this error message when I try and load it.

error1wm1.png

I’d love to get this plugin to work, as would a number of others.

Any thoughts?

UPDATE
New Version of Touch WorldWind aka Community Earth can be downloaded from nuicode or here http://mtaha.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/community-earth/

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 May 2008 08:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2007-11-04
Total Posts:  85
New Member

Nice find Fairlane.... I will try it soon and leave you feedback!

Chris

 Signature 

My setup Description
My Website with video reviews of soft! UPDATED!
Sorry for my bad english, Im french!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 May 2008 01:27 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-02-22
Total Posts:  556
Elite

I’ve been waiting to try it also : )

 Signature 

http://www.justinriggio.com cool mad
http://www.niceminds.com My blog

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 May 2008 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Thanks guys, I just tried it on another PC with the same error. Haven’t tried to compile it myself yet.

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 May 2008 08:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-01-29
Total Posts:  37
New Member

Hi everyone.
I’ve just rebuilt it from source and it works fine.
Problem was missing assembly reference. You’ll need to add PluginSDK.dll WorldWind.exe and WorldWindow.dll references in order to build it.
Attached is working version.

File Attachments
DanTouchEarthPlugin.rar  (File Size: 10KB - Downloads: 1019)
Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 May 2008 09:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Nice work skeeet! I thought it might have something to do with the compile/rebuild. Thanks for the updated version, I’ll try it soon… grin

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 May 2008 12:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2006-11-09
Total Posts:  1499
Administrator

Looking forward to try this out… thanks skeet.

 Signature 

~

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 May 2008 12:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Using OSC + simple-2point.avi works well too. Going to test it later on tonight and post results. The movement is limited but finally a plugin for Nasa WW that I happened to stumble onto while surfing the net! Yay! grin

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 May 2008 12:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Oh and thanks for updating the post too smile

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2008 04:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-02-11
Total Posts:  97
New Member

Yes! I’ve been looking for this… very nice find!

I tried installing it on my DI-setup, but I can’t get it to work properly. It does receive some inputs, but not even close to a smooth experience. It seems the update-rate is not following the touchlistener, that outputs blobs realtime. Any ideas?

1 - Have a working TouchLib (rev. 359) nicely calibrated
2 - Installed WorldWind
3 - Installed pluin through WorldWind (also tried copying the file into the plugin dir)
4 - Had to create log-file manually on C: in order to load the plugin
5 - Started Vision.bat (osc.exe localhost 3333)
6 - WorldWind does react, but not as you would like it to - moves a bit, small increments, then stops, even though the Touchlistener keeps outputting.

Is it different gestures?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2008 05:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-01-29
Total Posts:  37
New Member

No, gestures is the same. It is how plugin should work for now. Will take a look at source soon and make some fixes. Also Fairlane wanted to do the same thing smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2008 05:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Yeah it was all over the place. I fixed some issues like correct long/lat movement, fixed pinch and spread measurements and now looking into why it goes weird when you reach the dateline / poles. Also the rotate is a little off and needs attention.

Try this one out for some fixes, but more updates soon… (hopefully grin )

File Attachments
UPDATED_DanTouchEarthPlugin.rar  (File Size: 10KB - Downloads: 2035)
 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2008 06:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-02-11
Total Posts:  97
New Member

Yes, much better! I was a bit afraid it was something I had messed up in TouchLib somewhere… Looking forward to see what you come up with eventually, good work!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 May 2008 06:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Thanks entity, I want to incorporate the tilt function (right mouse button) and clean up the code a bit. Too much to do and not enough time! tongue wink

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2008 03:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-09-22
Total Posts:  263
Sr. Member

The pinch is really slow on my test setup (MTmini’sh sorta thing) , even tough i get excelent blobs and my rig is fast enough , the i do the gesture but it takes alot of time to actualy get somewhere.
Could you make it zoom-in faster with a smaller distance of fingers?Not all of us here have tables rasberry

Edit: I hope you understand what i’m trying to explain , when i try to zoom in with the pinch gesture or to fingers moving away from each other , even tough it starts zooming in and reacts quite nicely , the zoom-in action is slow as hell.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 May 2008 04:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2007-09-13
Total Posts:  333
Sr. Member

Something I’d like to add: you can configure camera behavior through Tools > Options. By playing with the settings (such as CameraRotationSpeed and CameraZoomAcceleration) I managed to make the previous version of the plugin to work quite reasonably. The only problem is that now I can’t find a way to reset the changed settings.

I’ll see how the updated version goes. Anyway, thanks Fairlane.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 10
1