Status of Python
Posted: 08 August 2008 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2008-05-06
Total Posts:  58

Greetings everyone!

I’m writing this post because, well, I’m confused, I need direction, and I think I might not be alone in either. Like many others, I began writing my own custom apps in Actionscript 3/Flash, and while it makes it quick and easy to develop them, it also runs slow as heck on anything other than a beast of a computer, and it doesn’t really allow for the sorts of graphical manipulations that I know many of us would like to see, since there’s no direct access to hardware rendering (at least, not in Flash 9). Then I was tipped onto Python. Seems fairly easy to pick up (although it might take a lifetime to master), there are great libraries out there already for working with graphics, and there are a few folks already working on things Python and multitouch related. However, it seems...disorganized, to say the least.

I’m a total newbie to Python, I’ll admit it, but when I came to learn how to do multitouch, I was able to jump right into the AS3 side of things because there were tutorials, examples, and tons of code already floating around. There were also guides, and the AS3 example code was integrated right into the Touchlib code you download from the SVN. Since trying to jump into the Python side of things, though, I’ve found no less than 4 different libraries, all promising to deliver basically the same thing, barely any example working applications, and not even a dedicated sub-forum, let alone guides or tutorials. If we want to get serious about Python around NUIGroup, I suggest we start changing this, for the good of all those folks out there, like me, who are trying to get a grip on this, and simply finding themselves floundering around without a clue.