tBeta works; TouchLib doesn’t (GNU/Linux)
Posted: 03 November 2008 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2008-11-03
Total Posts:  3
New Member

Hi
First, thank you for this very good software (yeah, I tested tBeta).
In my GNU/Linux machine (running FW), I can launch tBeta (btw: I didn’t find the source, and I had to copy & rename the missing libraries in order to launch it). It is running very good (I didn’t test the demos, Flash doesn’t recognize my webcam), but touchlib doesn’t work (rev.400), despite its compiling: when I launch configapp, it simply crashes when the focus is on one of the windows, or just after I slide one of the sliders (and I don’t see my webcam).
Here is the report:

(hy@touchlib) ./src/configapp 
** Messagegnomenugtk.vala:36module loaded
(00) = (0,0000000,000000)
(
10) = (0,2500000,000000)
(
20) = (0,5000000,000000)
(
30) = (0,7500000,000000)
(
40) = (1,0000000,000000)
(
01) = (0,0000000,333333)
(
11) = (0,2500000,333333)
(
21) = (0,5000000,333333)
(
31) = (0,7500000,333333)
(
41) = (1,0000000,333333)
(
02) = (0,0000000,666667)
(
12) = (0,2500000,666667)
(
22) = (0,5000000,666667)
(
32) = (0,7500000,666667)
(
42) = (1,0000000,666667)
(
03) = (0,0000001,000000)
(
13) = (0,2500001,000000)
(
23) = (0,5000001,000000)
(
33) = (0,7500001,000000)
(
43) = (1,0000001,000000)
(
00) = (0,0000000,000000)
(
10) = (0,2500000,000000)
(
20) = (0,5000000,000000)
(
30) = (0,7500000,000000)
(
40) = (1,0000000,000000)
(
01) = (0,0000000,333333)
(
11) = (0,2500000,333333)
(
21) = (0,5000000,333333)
(
31) = (0,7500000,333333)
(
41) = (1,0000000,333333)
(
02) = (0,0000000,666667)
(
12) = (0,2500000,666667)
(
22) = (0,5000000,666667)
(
32) = (0,7500000,666667)
(
42) = (1,0000000,666667)
(
03) = (0,0000001,000000)
(
13) = (0,2500001,000000)
(
23) = (0,5000001,000000)
(
33) = (0,7500001,000000)
(
43) = (1,0000001,000000)
Reading camera points
0
,0000000,000000
160
,0000000,000000
320
,0000000,000000
480
,0000000,000000
640
,0000000,000000
0
,000000160,000000
160
,000000160,000000
320
,000000160,000000
480
,000000160,000000
640
,000000160,000000
0
,000000320,000000
160
,000000320,000000
320
,000000320,000000
480
,000000320,000000
640
,000000320,000000
0
,000000480,000000
160
,000000480,000000
320
,000000480,000000
480
,000000480,000000
640
,000000480,000000
Erreur de segmentation

Where is this bug from ?
Thank you very much for your help!
PS: Have you heard about MPX ? It is a modification of the X server (which will be included in it from 7.5) that enable multitouch system on it. The main advantage is that you don’t need any modification to the applications in order to make it work (The official site of MPX).
PS2: Your logo is one of the best logos I’ve ever seen!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2008 06:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-08-26
Total Posts:  62
New Member

sorry this post doesn’t help very much but I too am interested in trying out mpx but I have not gotten past running touchlib or tbeta on my Ubuntu system.  It has been a while so I’m not entirely sure which lib it keeps asking for but when I go into my Repository Installer (Synaptic) I believe it shows that lib installed.  Is this what you met by having to rename the missing libraries?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2008 07:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-11-03
Total Posts:  3
New Member

No: I copied the libraies from /usr/lib into libs/ and renamed them accroding to what the debug was. My output is what touchlib outputs (segmentation faults).
tBeta works fine with my computer (don’t forget to install libpoco).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2008 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-08-26
Total Posts:  62
New Member

Sorry I couldn’t help but thanks for the information.  I will try this later when I get a chance.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2008 02:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

I’m not sure what the issue is with touchlib. Touchlib isn’t 100% stable on linux I don’t think though, I know there’s a couple patches floating around for it.

Can you please let me know what you had to rename in order to get tbeta working? That’ll help so we can fix it for the next version. From what I know, you shouldn’t have to rename anything and should only need to install libpoco. We haven’t released the source yet for tbeta. We’re still in the process of getting it ready to be released.

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2008 04:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-11-03
Total Posts:  3
New Member

Hi,
I had to rename libPoco*.so.6 to libPoco.so.2; libraw1394*.so.11 to 8, for the latest release (921 I think). Is is planned to support MPX ? It will be amazing if you do that. (I copied them from /usr/lib to libs/)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 November 2008 02:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-10-27
Total Posts:  46
New Member

This is a issue with touchlib and it’s use of openCV, try adding alot of filters in the chain that stalls your computer for a couple of milliseconds, like 100 or so… then when the next pass of the filter chain starts opencv got time to copy the output from the first one onto the framebuffer. If not it tires to copy the first output frame at the same time as touchlib tries to change it at the second filter chain pass… that’s a segmentation fault for you =)
And as for that moving the silders part, if you move a slider that tries to change a filter option (via the lovley setParameter function) you will have one thread changing a variable while another (the one running the touchlib process) trying to read it. That’s another critical error. Once again, if you clutter your filter chain with heavy filters there is less probability that you change the variable at the same time as touchlib tries to access it and thus makes less crashes.

At least that’s my conclusion after alot of headache and even more fiddling about

Profile