1 of 3
1
Kaswy’s MT Table - LLP 850 - 22” LCD - Fluo Backlight. 
Posted: 15 December 2008 04:06 PM   [ Ignore ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Hello from France,

Just a little post to thanks all the Nuigroup’s community for this very good forum
and to show you my first Multitouch Table and software smile

Hardware:
- LCD 22”
- LLP with modified Axis Laser(x2)
- PS3 EYE
- 850nm BP filter.
- Fluorescent tubes for backlight(x2)
- Glass for touch surface.

Software:
- Touchlib or tbeta.
- Python and PyMT SDK from Thomas Hansen
- <s>windows for now, but gnu linux as soon as possible.(problem with ps3 eye linux driver).</s>

EDIT: 25 January 2009
SWITCHED TO LINUX:

We can now use the PS3eye with more resolution and frame rate :
The working modes are :
00: 640x480@30
01: 640x480@50
02: 640x480@100
10: 320x240@60
11: 320x240@74
12: 320x240@100
13: 320x240@120

See here for the files:
http://kaswy.free.fr/?q=node/42
It is based on the gspca driver, modified by me, and maybe there are some bugs, ....
But it work for me !!!

Here the video :

And here some photos :

More info at http://kaswy.free.fr (in french)
Software at Download page (English)

Any feedback and testing welcome, thanks.

Image Attachments
pc010040.jpgpc040030.jpgpc040041.jpg
 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 04:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-04
Total Posts:  676
Moderator

Hey Kaswy, really nice setup! Works very well and the software is great too! Keep up the great work! grin

 Signature 

Get Sparked at sparkon.net
ORION Multi-Touch Display (blog)
My YouTube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

Looks great! Keep up the good work. Did you write all the python apps? My favorite is the photo manipulation software; very useful smile

 Signature 

MTmini, MTbiggie, & Audiotouch creator & Community Core Vision Co-founder

Follow on:
My Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 04:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

Looks awesome man…

Just a couple of questions:
**You said “modified” Aixiz lasers...can you elaborate?
**What wattage lasers?
**You’re using a 850nm filter, when Aixiz only sells 780nm and 900nm something lasers...um...either you modified them accordingly, or...?

Thanks!

 Signature 

MT Website - A Collection of the Most Relevant Multitouch Info From These Forums
Multitouch Blog
Multitouch Parts Store - Buy Infrared Touch Frames (No Camera Needed!), Complete Modified Cameras and DIY Upgrade Kits, m12/CS Mounts, m12/CS Lenses, Infrared Lasers, LEDs, etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 04:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-02-12
Total Posts:  1120
Member

Nice work man
Great job..

 Signature 

Company Website - Knode Research and Development
My Youtube

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 05:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Thanks all for your feedback smile

@cerupcat
It’s really easy to write in python, with the help of PyMT for Multitouch events
and its really speed, the PC used for the demo is a MSI WIND portable with an ATOM processor.
I will post photoo.py code, when it will be cleaned. I have already put ibar and GE_touch simple code
on my website.

@PeauProductions
Modified laser, because the 780nm laser from Aixis are too difficult to filter (near red), so i have swapped the diode with a
850nm 10mW L850P010 THORLABS one. (see here my tests and pdf of L850P010)
Just be careful that the pinout are not the same.The 850nm BP filter i used is from ebay(i could find the link if you want).

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

I have the link for BP filters from omegabob’s ebay store, thanks.

What are you using to driver the lasers?

Dont know if you tried this, or if you still can try it with you 850nm lasers, but I am trying to get an IR laser that when shone on a wall, like a laser pointer, can be seen by a webcam from about 10 ft away at night (meaning no ambient IR light present).  I have some 780nm ones from Aixiz, but I ordered too low wattage (5mW).  So not only am I in need of a higher wattage, I am pretty sure I need something closer to 850nm, rather than the 780nm.  What Im wondering is if you are still able to, shine the point laser onto a surface and let me know if a modified webcam can pick up the ir point.  Im trying to figure out if I need the 10mW one, 30mW, or 100mW.  Thanks.

 Signature 

MT Website - A Collection of the Most Relevant Multitouch Info From These Forums
Multitouch Blog
Multitouch Parts Store - Buy Infrared Touch Frames (No Camera Needed!), Complete Modified Cameras and DIY Upgrade Kits, m12/CS Mounts, m12/CS Lenses, Infrared Lasers, LEDs, etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 December 2008 08:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
RankRankRank
Joined  2008-04-30
Total Posts:  321
Sr. Member

Quel ecran as-tu utilise? Et l’a ete facile a changer?

What monitor did you use, and was it easy to modify?

My typing French sucks because I’m to lazy to add the French language toolbar.

EDIT: It’s on your site, forget I ever asked that question

It’s a Hyuandai x224w.

Was it easy to take apart and modify?

 Signature 

I’m bad about monitoring posts so if you have a question regarding something I’ve said, then just send me a PM.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2008 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

@PeauProductions
The driver for the laser are inside the module, it’s Aixiz original driver, i have just swapped the laser led and adjusted
the resistor to have a 50mA current trough the 850 laser led (typical current).
I can make a test with a 10mw laser dot at 850nm on a wall for you if you can wait a little, i have a lot things to do in this end of 2008 year.
Maybe i can do that in the begin of 2009. Are you interested ?

@fuz3
Thank you for trying French, my English is approximative too wink
Yes my LCD panel is from an Hyundai x224w 22” Monitor (cost in France is 160€), and i had no big problem to extract the lcd.
I have used some matches to disassemble the LCD-FILTERS-BACKLIGHT sandwich.
And the lcd flex in this monitor is only on side of the LCD panel (It was a good surprise for me).
The other Flex between the LCD and the Video Signal board is LVDS protocol and can then be lengthened if needed.
I think that it’s a good monitor for an MT project. My next one will be largest, maybe twice.

Thanks for your interest.

Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2008 03:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

That would be great if you could test that for me.

Can you explain how you adjusted the resistor?

Thanks again.

 Signature 

MT Website - A Collection of the Most Relevant Multitouch Info From These Forums
Multitouch Blog
Multitouch Parts Store - Buy Infrared Touch Frames (No Camera Needed!), Complete Modified Cameras and DIY Upgrade Kits, m12/CS Mounts, m12/CS Lenses, Infrared Lasers, LEDs, etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2008 04:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member
PeauProductions - 16 December 2008 03:56 PM

That would be great if you could test that for me.

Can you explain how you adjusted the resistor?

Thanks again.

Just put a milliAmper meter in serial with the Laser diode and be careful when turning the pot (turn slowly).
For the wall test, I’ll test it in few days.
Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 December 2008 04:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-09-12
Total Posts:  2225
Dedicated

Awesome..looking forward to it

 Signature 

MT Website - A Collection of the Most Relevant Multitouch Info From These Forums
Multitouch Blog
Multitouch Parts Store - Buy Infrared Touch Frames (No Camera Needed!), Complete Modified Cameras and DIY Upgrade Kits, m12/CS Mounts, m12/CS Lenses, Infrared Lasers, LEDs, etc

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2008 06:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-05-20
Total Posts:  219
Member

Hi,

Does your GE touch work with reactivision TUIO simulator?

I’ve got GE pro. I start GE pro, then your PyGE_touch.exe, then TUIO simulator. Doesn’t seems to work.

Thanks.

Edit:

I found there is an error running the PyGE_touch.exe.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “PyGE_touch.py”, line 100, in <module>
File “win32com\client\__init__.pyc”, line 95, in Dispatch
File “win32com\client\dynamic.pyc”, line 98, in _GetGoodDispatchAndUserName
File “win32com\client\dynamic.pyc”, line 78, in _GetGoodDispatch
pywintypes.com_error: (-2147221005, ‘Invalid class string’, None, None)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2008 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Hi icube,

I have never used a TUIO simulator, i work on a real hardware and
it work with Touchlib and Tbeta tracker.
I can’ t say you if it works or not with the TUIO simulator.
But the error you get look like an Windows Library error or missing library.
Could you tell me what’s your OS and if you have some services packs installed.

Thanks,
Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 17 December 2008 11:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-05-20
Total Posts:  219
Member

i’m using windows xp with sp 3.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2008 01:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Avatar
RankRank
Joined  2007-11-29
Total Posts:  153
Member

It does sound like a windows library issue, but I’m not sure given py2exe might do some fancy magic under the hood.  It might be a pymt issue.  Do you have the TUIO simulator broadcast on port 3333.  I think maybe you have to start the TUIO simulator before starting the application; I have had that issue with other pymt apps before.  I have only tried with qtsim, and that seems to work at least if i start it before it start the applications.

 Signature 

http://blog.tehansen.de
http://cs.uiowa.edu/~tehansen

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1