2 of 3
2
Kaswy’s MT Table - LLP 850 - 22” LCD - Fluo Backlight. 
Posted: 18 December 2008 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Hi Thomas

Could you tell me more about ‘qtsim’, i don’t know this simulator ?
And you’re right, there are some problem for connecting with TUIO simulator socket (i have tested it with PyMT this day).

But the present problem of icube is an other problem.I have made a test with a new installation of
WinXP/SP3 and it work, i have just the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package installed, maybe you can try that icube.

Does somebody else have the same problem ?

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2008 03:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Avatar
RankRank
Joined  2007-11-29
Total Posts:  153
Member

sorry.  its called qmtsim.  It was one of the nuigroup projects for summer of code.

http://code.google.com/p/qmtsim/

I’m going to take a look at it in pymt.  It also fails very ugly if another pymt app is running or didnt finish gracefully, maybe i can get them to listen to the same port and fix the simulator issues.  xelapond was also talking about some recent improvements to touchpy, so using that for the TUIO backend might help.

By the way though.  instead of using an external TUIO simulator there is also a kind of TUIO simulator built into pymt as a widget.  If you use a UIWindow its enabled by default (unless you initi with debug=false).  The class is called MTSimulator its in all the example apps now.  if you left click it also dispatches touch events.  if you use the right mouse button the touch stays on the screen and you can drag it afterwards to simulate simultaneous touches.  its nice for debugging, but it doesn’t have advanced features like the simulators.

How is the photoo app?  Sorry rasberry I don’t mean to be pushing, but I am very curious to see how you achieved the effect! smile Do you use vertex/pixel shaders?  or transform a mesh with texture cords?  And of course: thanks for sharing your great work!

 Signature 

http://blog.tehansen.de
http://cs.uiowa.edu/~tehansen

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2008 04:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Ok, thanks for qmtsim.
And i will try the PyMT internal simulator too.

- For the photoo app, there is no friendly image loader for now, and i would like trying to clean it a little before release it for everyone.
If you have some time to do that, i can send it to you.
I use a mesh transform with GL_TRIANGLES_STRIP and the code is actually less than 100 lines.

- I’m working on a nice(i think smile ) menu app in openGL always with your very good PyMt SDK:
The menu app read the app title, the command line and the icon to display for each menu option from an xml file.
But i have a problem, in a GLWindow to launch an other app without exiting menu :
I must:
Close the TUIO socket (osc.dontListen()), set the window invisible(self.set_visible(None)), launch the selected app(os.system("selectedApp"))
and when app is closed, set the menu visible (self.set_visible()),and create the socket again(TouchEventLoop().run()).
It works, but it’s not very clean gulp, is there another way to do that? some idea ?

- Another thing important for me, is to find an ov534 linux driver for my ps3 eye, i would like switch my MT machine to linux as soon as possible.
There seem to have some port to gspca webcam project but i can’t compile it (I must work on that).

sorry again for my bad English.
Thanks,

Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 07:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-10-13
Total Posts:  6
New Member

wow, that looks really good.

The Hyundai x224w seem to be a good monitor for my project, too.
I take a look at the hyundai homepage, their exist two different types of it.
-http://www.hyundaiq.de/produkte/tft/X224Wa/x224wa.htm
-http://www.hyundaiq.de/produkte/tft/X224Wd/x224wd.htm

which one did you use?
No FFC?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-09-18
Total Posts:  882
Moderator

HI Kaswy,
you mentioned that you ‘re using

Fluorescent tubes for backlight(x2)

;
Can you tell us more about those ? How many Watts and Size ? Any reference ?

Cheers from Paris

 Signature 

How many touches can you simultaneously perform ? 
Coming soon : EveryWall MT / Multi LaserPointers / MT SMS Wall
le WIKI en Fran├žais

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 12:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-05-20
Total Posts:  219
Member
kaswy - 18 December 2008 02:48 PM

Hi Thomas

Could you tell me more about ‘qtsim’, i don’t know this simulator ?
And you’re right, there are some problem for connecting with TUIO simulator socket (i have tested it with PyMT this day).

But the present problem of icube is an other problem.I have made a test with a new installation of
WinXP/SP3 and it work, i have just the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package installed, maybe you can try that icube.

Does somebody else have the same problem ?

Hi kaswy i downloaded the redistributable package and its still the same error. does the pyge_touch need to be in the same folder was my Google Earth Pro?

just checking, your program is listening @ 127.0.0.1: 3333 right?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Avatar
RankRank
Joined  2007-11-29
Total Posts:  153
Member

just an idea, I don’t have any experience with win32com.  Maybe it doesn’t work with Google Earth Pro?  It works here with the free google earth download.  to start the google earth app kaswy’s code calls the following dispatch function:
googleEarth = win32com.client.Dispatch("GoogleEarth.ApplicationGE").  Maybe the string “GoogleEarth.ApplicationGE” has to be changed to something with Pro? 

pymt lisetens to port 3333 on localhoast(127.0.0.1) by default.

 Signature 

http://blog.tehansen.de
http://cs.uiowa.edu/~tehansen

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

Thanks Thomas for your help, maybe you are right and they’re are difference with API in the GEpro version.
Maybe, icube can register again the GE API see here: Google Earth COM Registration

@hi-pi
The only difference between the two models seem to be the DVI input presence, I have only one VGA connector on mine.

@jimihertz
I use two tubes 60cm / 20W, i’m going to use only one transformer for the two tubes.

@Thomas
Have you got an idea for my 3DMenu App problem ?

Thanks,

Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Avatar
RankRank
Joined  2007-11-29
Total Posts:  153
Member

kaswy,

I think the complications your experiencing with launching apps come down to some of the same issues with pymt we discussed before.  Like pymt doesnt handle multiple applications and the TUIO receiving isn’t all that robust.  I’m looking at the code right now and think I’m going to rewrite that part/make it work with touchpy.  I’ll test it specifically with opening multiple windows/starting other apps with os.system.  I’ll let you know when I have it worked out. 

A hide() function for the window class might be useful which hides the window and disables TUIO input while its inactive. Or a swicth() function that starts another app, and just comes back to where you where once it exits. What do you think?  If you want to share the code, I could use it as a example for how the api should work. 

Also I’d love to help write a menu/launcher app; it could also start multiple pymt applications (at least if they do their own drawing) “inside the app” and draw them into widgets so you can use multiple apps simultaneously.

--
Thomas

 Signature 

http://blog.tehansen.de
http://cs.uiowa.edu/~tehansen

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2008 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2008-05-08
Total Posts:  342
Sr. Member

Kaswy,

The tracking looks really smooth and the blobs are clean.
Great work!

~Alex

 Signature 

Computing is not about computers any more.  It is about living!

Code Laboratories
CL Studio Live - Video like never before
CL Eye Platform SDK

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 December 2008 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-05-20
Total Posts:  219
Member
kaswy - 19 December 2008 02:13 PM

Thanks Thomas for your help, maybe you are right and they’re are difference with API in the GEpro version.
Maybe, icube can register again the GE API see here: Google Earth COM Registration

@hi-pi
The only difference between the two models seem to be the DVI input presence, I have only one VGA connector on mine.

@jimihertz
I use two tubes 60cm / 20W, i’m going to use only one transformer for the two tubes.

@Thomas
Have you got an idea for my 3DMenu App problem ?


Thanks,

Kaswy

sorry but what do u mean by register again the GE API?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 December 2008 04:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member
AlexP - 19 December 2008 05:21 PM

Kaswy,

The tracking looks really smooth and the blobs are clean.
Great work!

~Alex

Thanks very much Alex.

For your feedback and for sharing your very good LLP method that i use on my setup.
I have spend a lot of time reading your posts in this forum before starting my MT table.
I have used your excellent PS3 eye driver too, but now i want switch to linux and i’m looking for a linux driver.

Thanks

Kaswy

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 December 2008 04:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member
icube - 20 December 2008 07:43 AM

kaswy - 19 December 2008 02:13 PM

GE API see here: Google Earth COM Registration

sorry but what do u mean by register again the GE API?

In the link before, you can find this :

If, for some reason, you need to register the Google Earth COM API again, execute GoogleEarth.exe with “/RegServer” as a command line argument.
For instance, assuming GoogleEarth.exe is located in C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth, use the following command line to register Google Earth’s COM API:

“C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth\googleearth.exe” /RegServer

And have you tried with the free Googleearth version (like Thomas said)?

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 December 2008 05:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-12-02
Total Posts:  31
New Member

I think the complications your experiencing with launching apps come down to some of the same issues with pymt we discussed before.  Like pymt doesnt handle multiple applications and the TUIO receiving isn’t all that robust.  I’m looking at the code right now and think I’m going to rewrite that part/make it work with touchpy.  I’ll test it specifically with opening multiple windows/starting other apps with os.system.  I’ll let you know when I have it worked out. 

It would be really good !
Maybe we can use execfile() for python app (in widget) and os.system for others.
I’m looking for a way to first load in memory the selected app and launch it after when i’m ready to avoid latency between the window menu close and the new app open.

A hide() function for the window class might be useful which hides the window and disables TUIO input while its inactive. Or a swicth() function that starts another app, and just comes back to where you where once it exits. What do you think?  If you want to share the code, I could use it as a example for how the api should work. 

Also I’d love to help write a menu/launcher app; it could also start multiple pymt applications (at least if they do their own drawing) “inside the app” and draw them into widgets so you can use multiple apps simultaneously.

I like your hide() function idea, i’m going to share my Menu app soon or send it to you directly.

Thanks

Kaswy
--

 Signature 

My Setup :http://kaswy.free.fr

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 December 2008 02:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
RankRankRank
Joined  2008-03-11
Total Posts:  253
Sr. Member

kaswy: forgive for my dummy question, but, will PyGE_touch work on linux?  there is win32com class which is I suppose a windows thing??

 Signature 

My Blog: http://zviangi.blogspot.com with pictures and videos ....text in Georgian
22" LCD DSI coffee table
58" DI Table
FTIR table (my 1st) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mR90jjZNs8s

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2