FPGA and OpenCV library
Posted: 01 March 2009 01:58 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2009-03-01
Total Posts:  1

Hello Group,

I’m thinking about working on a project using FPGA and just today ran into OpenCV for the first time and was wondering if it would be possible to use OpenCV on FPGA boards. I’m new to this concept and it would be great if folks that know the answer or have some experience give me some heads up or any advice.

Thanks.
Ramsin

Posted: 02 March 2009 06:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-02-20
Total Posts:  34

hi ramsin,

your question is a little confusing because of the nature of FPGAs and the nature of software.

openCV is a library for writing computer vision applications, while FPGAs are hardware design utilities.

if you want to “use openCV on an FPGA,” then your FPGA will need some sort of processor IP core that conforms to an instruction set architecture. you will then need to compile openCV for that particular platform to generate the appropriate machine language instructions.

in a nutshell, FPGAs are for implementing hardware designs, not for running software.

you can accelerate certain applications by developing dedicated hardware to perform certain tasks, but in this case, that would involve going inside openCV and implementing some of the algorithms in hardware, then interfacing the FPGA with your PC and writing drivers so that your higher level software can take advantage of the hardware accelerator that you’ve just implemented.

i really don’t want to be discouraging, but it seems like you’re mixing two concepts without fully understanding each.

try to find which part of the problem you would use the FPGA to accelerate.

best,

kevin

Signature 

Santa Cruz Interactive Multi-touch Platform

Posted: 01 September 2009 04:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-09-01
Total Posts:  2

Kind of interesting here…

Hi there!