GSoC 09: Finger detection improvements DI/DSI and orientation detection (hand detection? DSI/DI)
Posted: 20 March 2009 09:11 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2008-08-17
Total Posts:  9

Name: Ariel Molina
Email: ariel_zarzamora.com.mx
Location/Timezone: GMT-6
Education/Qualifications: PhD student
Academic and Industry Background: I studied physics and math, made a Masters in computer science (thesis in 3D monocular object tracking), currently i am studying a PhD in computer science, my work is on markerless 3D human hand posture tracking.
Open source development experience: I created a monocular 3D object tracker which i opensourced via the local server at my institute. I am very experienced in collaborative tools and versioning systems (GIT and SVN)
Activity level within the NUI Group Community: Visited on a regular basis, reading a lot of posts.
Time working multi-touch, natural user interfaces, HCI and related fields: More than 3 years.
The reason for picking specific project:
I chose NUI because i am working on vision based human-machine interfaces so it is natural for me to be interested in vision based stuff. The problems faced by NUI group in finger tracking are in my direct area of research (object tracking). I am sure good contributions can be made in refining object tracking and even create a basis for hand detection.

Project Proposal:
Finger Detection Improvements (hand detection?)
---------------------------------------------------------------------