Recognition, Tracking and Association of Hands, Fingers, and Blobs: A Tbeta Upgrade
Posted: 29 March 2009 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2008-11-04
Total Posts:  8

Name: Thiago de Freitas Oliveira Araújo

Email: ,

Location/Timezone: GMT -3

Education/Qualifications: Undergraduate Student - Electrical Engineering

Academic and Industry Background: I am an undergraduate student on Electrical Engineering(emphasis on Control and Automation. Currently I am a researcher and developer on the Embedded Systems and Pervasive Computing Laboratory on the Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, on a Multitouch Project, in cooperation with the Instituto Nokia de Tecnologia ( Nokia Institute of Technology), where my work is mainly conducted on computer vision, especially with hand, blob and finger recognition and association.  I have worked for a computer manufacturer company customizing Linux Distributions for easing their usage for people that are not acquainted with Linux. And also, I am a member of the Brasil-VR team , the Latin American Champion and qualified for the Robocup Worldwide Championship in Graz, Austria 2009, on the Robocup Virtual Robots Rescue Simulation League.  My main research interests are Robotics, Computer Vision, SLAM(Simultaneous Localization and Mapping), Probabilistic Robotics, etc.

Open source development experience: My open source experience is mostly from the work cited above. For the project proposal the main experience in my opinion is the one conducted in C++ for our code to the Robocup. Also, OpenCV experience for the development on the Multitouch Project. Have developed a python Open Source API for interacting Lego Mindstorms NXT with Nokia Linux OS based Devices. And also, a C++ platform for robots interaction with Wireless Networks.