Industrial Design Project Distant Bodies - 2 x FTIR 22" screens! 
Posted: 20 April 2009 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2009-04-20
Total Posts:  46

Hi all

I am a student at the faculty of industrial design at the Technical University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands. For our current project we are building 2 multitouch setups, to do research on creating awareness with multitouch.
It is our first projectweek, and we have been building for 3 days now. I find it interesting to see how other people build their screens, so I decided to share our building process as well.

Our goal is to design a new innovative communication platform, that creates a feeling of ‘awareness’ between users. For more info about this, you will have to wait wink it has only been 3 days!
Let’s hope this will be a succes and you will all be using our software in a few years… smile

We are making 2 identical screens at the same time! We have a lot of free materials at our school, like acryl, leds, wood, etc. In the workshop we can work with various tools, there is even a laser cutter available :D

We bought 140 x 940nm leds from a internetshop in holland, that only cost 6 cents each! Really cheap! LEDs-buy.nl

It is easyer for me to attach a few pictures per post, and describe what happens. So I will post some more in this topic soon!

Enjoy!

Image Attachments
schematic.JPG
 Signature 

LCD-FTIR in progress! xD

Posted: 20 April 2009 04:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-04-20

the design

As you can see in the pictures, we made everything out of MDF and other cheap materials. These are freely available for us, so that is why we choose them.
We have 2 pieces of plexiglas, each 34 x 52 cm. We wanted to have an aspect ratio of 16:10, and this should be exactly that!
The plexiglas was cut with an industrial saw, the edges were really terrible!