42” DI Wooden Table
Posted: 30 April 2009 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2009-04-07
Total Posts:  27

scryTable_pic046small.jpg
Concept art: (blender3d)

Rear DI reactiVision Linux Project:

Greetings. I thought I would take a little time introduce my MT project to the NUI group and show the progress that has been made thus far.
First I would like to thank everyone here. I could not have gotten this far without this fantastic community. I’ve been working at this for a few months off and on. The hard part was waiting for parts to arrive from distant lands.  grin

The goal is to create a MT tabletop using reactiVision that can provide an interactive surface for D&D style gaming. Fiducials will be used to interact with the surface and environments. The surface will need to be able to recognize fingers, fiducials, and possibly miniature figurines. Seating should be available for up to 6 players and 1 DM. The main goal is to display interactive overhead maps that can be used by the players. We have bunch of ideas floating around for coding the actual application but for now the focus is to get the basics working.

Parts:
BenQ MP512ST projector
PS3 eye camera (converted to 850nm IR bandpass with wide angle lens)
NIR Optical Filter, 850DF20, 11.5mm painted edge
2.1mm 160-Degree Wide Angle Lens
Walmart mirror (will be made FS soon)
Computer:
---Debian 5.01
---AMD Athalon 64 4000+ (clocked @ 2.4 GHZ presently)
---2 GB Ram
---Nvidia GTX 7800 (256 MB ram)
4x 48 IR LED arrays 850nm

I used my 3D model as a guide to create the plans for the frame and built the frame from 2x4 studs. I wanted it to be solid because there would be up to 7 people at the table. The interactive surface area is 3 feet square. There will be about a 12 inch shelf around the entire outside edge for the players to place books/dice etc. on.

Frame:
frame2small.jpg
frame3small.jpg
frame7small.jpg