1 of 2
1
Problems with PS3Eye settings
Posted: 30 May 2009 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

I posted the same also on the camera forum but didn’t get any reply....  Maybe it was the wrong place :(

Hi All,
My problem is that the PS3Eye works in the test program, works with CCV, works with the TBeta (obviously faster than CCV (60 vs 100 FPS)), but the camera picture is too dark. 
I can adjust the settings in the Test program but when I open CCV or Tbeta it gets dark again and there is no way to re adjust it for me…
Also the Camera is not visible in Amcap.  I can see: USB Camera B4.04.27.1 in the sound part but not in the video part....
Can anyone help me.... 
There must be a way to adjust the settings in CCV or Tbeta....

Plsssss.....  Urgenttttt......

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 May 2009 03:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

Ok solved it myself.  Downloaded the svn version of CCV and compiled it.
Now the settings I make in the demo app stay put in CCV.

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 June 2009 07:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-11-21
Total Posts:  10
New Member

I am running windows server 2008 and i noticed the settings do not stick properly unless i run CCV as administrator…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2009 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

I noticed that the self compiled version does not allow to calibrate…
Blobs are not detected…
Has anyone elese experienced the same?

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2009 06:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Rank
Joined  2007-11-21
Total Posts:  10
New Member

Yes. Current source will not pass configuration. Revert to revision 176, before the time based calculations were commited and you should be fine

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2009 06:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

I have not the slightest idea on how to do that....
I have only the latest files… Is there a way to revert?

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2009 04:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

I think I got it.  Will try tomorrow

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2009 04:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

Ok worked great, I actually even set the exposure and gain settings in VS2008 for the PS3 camera.  It works lika a charm…
BTW. for non programmers like me:  To revert to a previous version you hav to choose that option in tortoise svn (thats what I use)…

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 June 2009 09:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-06-02
Total Posts:  39
New Member

I have the PS3Eye working fine with the test app at 120 fps and 320x240 but when I load CCV the best I can get is 15 fps with the same resolution.

The config.xml seems to be set to 120 fps by default… any reason I would only get 15fps? I’ve got a pretty beefy machine.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 June 2009 03:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

Have you tried to set it to 60FPS in the config file?..  I had something similar and it worked…

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 15 June 2009 09:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Rank
Joined  2008-04-28
Total Posts:  15
New Member

casperghost, the reason is couse ps3eyes works in 125 fps in 320 x 480, tray again setting in 125. good luck!  wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2009 07:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2008-09-08
Total Posts:  23
New Member
bdahmet - 05 June 2009 04:42 PM

Ok worked great, I actually even set the exposure and gain settings in VS2008 for the PS3 camera.  It works lika a charm…
BTW. for non programmers like me:  To revert to a previous version you hav to choose that option in tortoise svn (thats what I use)…

Hi bdahmet,

I have the same problem you had, and tried to do the same, but I don’t know how to change the exposure and gain settings in VS2008 for the PS3 camera.

Here is what I’ve done for the people that have the same problem:

1) Get a copy of VS2008
2) Get a copy of Tortoise SVN
3) Create a folder
-right click on that folder
-click on SVN Checkout
-copy the URL of the repository http://nuicode.svnrepository.com/svn/tbeta/trunk/tbeta/Windows/ (http://nuicode.com/projects/tbeta for other OS)
-In the revision section put 176
-This will download the SVN version of the CCV
4) Then install the Service Pack 1 for VS2008 from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=FBEE1648-7106-44A7-9649-6D9F6D58056E&displaylang=en
5) Then follow these compiling instructions http://nuicode.com/projects/tbeta/wiki/Compiling_instructions (The step 3 is in the folder you just created)

At this point I had a problem, the code Build without problems, but when I click “Release/Debug” to Run it give me an error “No Debugging Information: Debugging information for ‘Comunity Core Vision.exe’ cannot be found or does not match. Binary was not built with debug information. Do you want to continue debugging?” (Picture 1)

To solve that error follow these instructions http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/Vsexpressvc/thread/503d3ded-976e-460e-b5f9-7e03454ed387 (thanks casperghost!)

Then is posible for you to have this error: “Unhandled exception at 0x0041f0d0 in Community Core Vision.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000c60.” (picture 2)

To solve that error just point your debugging “Working Directory” to the “Bin” folder. (thanks again casperghost and cerupcat)

Debugging your CCV should run fine at this point!!!

But I still can’t change the gain and exposure of the PS3
It seem it will modifying this code from ofxPS3.cpp, but it doesn’t work for me:

// Start capturing
pCam->StartCapture();
pCam->AutoAGC(false);
pCam->AutoAEC(false);
//pCam->SetExposure(20);
//pCam->SetGain(4);

I uncomment the 2 last lines but it doesn’t work.

Any help would be appreciated!!

Core2Duo T7250 @ 2.0 GHz
2 GB RAM
Windows Vista Home Basic 32 Bits SP1
CCV 1.2
PS3Eye Camera v2.1.0.0130

Image Attachments
Debugging1.jpgDebugging2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2009 08:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-06-02
Total Posts:  39
New Member

I got past the “No debugging information” error easily enough by following the instructions here: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/Vsexpressvc/thread/503d3ded-976e-460e-b5f9-7e03454ed387

But now I’m getting an unhandled exception that points me to line 738 in ofTrueTypeFont.cpp -

xoffset += cps[cy].width;
// zach - this is a bug to fix—for now, we don’t currently deal with ‘ ‘ in calculating string bounding box

Edit:
I commented out that line as I believe it’s simply related to rendering space characters as text.  Now I can get past it but I get another access violation in tinyxml.cpp on line 1578 -

for( const TiXmlAttribute* node = sentinel.next; node != &sentinel; node = node->next )

Is this related to reading the config file maybe? Here is my console output: fcfefcad87119e2ea89da7112d6845b4.png

Edit2:

Ok I got this working by setting my debugging “Working Directory” to the “Bin” folder.  Apparently the program wasn’t able to read the filter XML files until I did that.  Maybe because I’m in debug mode?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 July 2009 10:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-06-02
Total Posts:  39
New Member
yöyen - 15 June 2009 09:52 PM

casperghost, the reason is couse ps3eyes works in 125 fps in 320 x 480, tray again setting in 125. good luck!  wink

Setting it to 125 fps seems to crash the app after a few seconds of use.  This kind of makes sense to me because the camera is rated at 120FPS, not 125 correct?

In either case, the best framerate i’ve seen it produce in CCV so far is 30fps even though I can get more in the test app.

Here is the behavior, it’s oddly consistent:

Config FPS: 125 / Real FPS: 30 (then crash)
Config FPS: 120 / Real FPS 15
Config FPS: 60 / Real FPS: 20
Config FPS: 30 / Real FPS: 15
Config FPS: 1 / Real FPS: 1

This is all at 320x240

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 July 2009 01:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Avatar
Rank
Joined  2009-05-02
Total Posts:  52
New Member

You have to make the Exposure changes in PS3 demo application. 
Or otherwise you can set it here: XX and recompile every time… I have a response here with precompiled adjustable and higher exposure version: http://nuigroup.com/forums/viewthread/6023/
// Start capturing
pCam->StartCapture();
pCam->AutoAGC(false);
pCam->AutoAEC(false);
pCam->SetExposure(XX);
pCam->SetGain(XX);

 Signature 

http://www.bdtasarim.com
http://bdtasarim.blogspot.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 July 2009 10:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
RankRank
Joined  2007-06-06
Total Posts:  139
Member

Here’s a solution that worked for me. I used build 176 and added some extra XML tags for GAIN and EXPOSURE within the CAMERA0 tag of config.xml. It’s nice to be able to toy around with the values when you’re lighting changes by modifying the config file instead of recompiling.

 Signature 

- Miketavius

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1