cold feet before buying Endlighten and RP material
Posted: 25 August 2009 11:01 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Joined  2008-10-06
Total Posts:  110

Hello to all the NUI posters and lurkers. I’m building 3 tables, 16:10 aspect ratio at 40"x22.5". Putting together my overall shopping list hasn’t been too difficult (all the mistakes I made on my first 2 tables, along with this forum, has taught me well) but I am worried about my order of Endlighten and a suitable rear projection material.

the reason for my worry is because these tables are going into a well lit trade show environment. I have no experience with Endlighten or acrylic RP materials. I’ve been using clear plexi and different grades of drafting paper. I have been paying attention to some of the problems other people have had people aned come up with some questions.

I need to know that touches will work with large arc-lights as well as the possibility of some indirect sunlight. I’m using the 850nm led ribbons made by EnvironmentalLights, planning on 10mm Endlighten XL (10mm because of the size of my table), and also purchased 2 850n lasers to have LLP on the same setup for added blob brightness. I read about someone having a good setup until a bit of daylight was introduced and I don’t know if the Endlighten or the Acrylite RP material would be at fault for possibly magnifying the issue of sunlight.

Endlighten sound like a dream, but does it’s mini particulates also capture daylight from the surface and bounce it around internally? or will a non-acrylic RP surface (like Peau’s recommended IceHolo) be better for me than a frosted acrylic near daylight? What would you buy if you were in my shoes? I have a shopping cart with goodies in it over at http://www.acrylite-shop.com but hesitant to get the stuff cut and shipped.

special thanks to Peau for his quick PM’s, and thanks to you guys in advance.

Signature 

blog.LitStudios.com
Adventures in Human Computer Interaction