1 of 6
1
Surface Workstation edition - custom input (Updated: 13.09.2009)
Posted: 29 August 2009 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-07-14
Total Posts:  819
Elite

First of all, this is NOT the same progam you have seen on youtube video. You will get only contacts information (later you may also get raw images from camera). That means no byte tags and no identity tags.
The purpose of this program is to TEST your surface application while you developing it on hardware that is not supported by Surface Simulator. This program does not do any changes in Microsoft code.
You will need Surface Workstation edition Service Pack 1 (available from http://partner.surface.com) and “MultitouchVista second release - refresh 2” (available from http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/Release/ProjectReleases.aspx?ReleaseId=28979).
Attached archive includes a ScreenBounds.reg. You have to start it after installing Surface SDK and before proceeding.
How to use it:
1. Make sure that SurfaceInput is not running. Exit it it does.
2. Start MTV service.
3. If you use multiple mice input provider use configuration tool to enable mouse blocking.
4. Start CustomSurfaceInput.exe (will appear in tray)
5. Start SurfaceShell.exe. You will find it here: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Surface\v1.0\SurfaceShell.exe
Enjoy

P.S. tested only on Windows 7 32bit RTM.

History:
Version: 1.0.1.0 does not crashes Surface apps.
Version: 1.0.2.0 should now work on 64bit OS.
Version: 1.0.2.1 shows detailed information about errors.

File Attachments
CustomSurfaceInput (Version 1.0.2.1).zip  (File Size: 132KB - Downloads: 1022)
 Signature 

HID Multitouch driver for Windows 7 http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-18
Total Posts:  405
Sr. Member

Daniel D
On behalf of all of us here I wish to thank you
You are one of the people who make a diffrence to Nui and its followers.

 Signature 

http://melbournemultitouch.blogspot.com/
introducing mt to melbourne, one touch @ a time

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-18
Total Posts:  405
Sr. Member

so will you try adding tags soon?

 Signature 

http://melbournemultitouch.blogspot.com/
introducing mt to melbourne, one touch @ a time

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-07-14
Total Posts:  819
Elite

No. Tags recognition is made by Surfaces’s vision system. This program does not uses it and it is not included in workstation edition.

 Signature 

HID Multitouch driver for Windows 7 http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 09:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-18
Total Posts:  405
Sr. Member

is it possible to add it in, or even use ccv

 Signature 

http://melbournemultitouch.blogspot.com/
introducing mt to melbourne, one touch @ a time

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

daniel you are amazing gonna try this today and give you some feedbacks…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-11-22
Total Posts:  529
Elite

danny you are awesome man in community thank you i was waiting to this they since beginning of my project
like said in this thread your works are the best

 Signature 

my 19” LCD setup ----> turned into new look
my 60” FTIR setup (old video)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 02:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-07-14
Total Posts:  819
Elite

It is not possible to add surface tags because they are recognized by vision system, that is absent in workstation edition. But it is possible to add tags that will be recognized by input providers and “converted” to surface tags.

 Signature 

HID Multitouch driver for Windows 7 http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 August 2009 03:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-08-24
Total Posts:  24
New Member

Thank you, this is really great!

I’m having some problems.. “attract” and other surface programs sometimes shut down with error “attract has stopped working..”
this only happens when using multiple inputs and CustomSurfaceInput.exe.

I’m having the same problem on 2 computers, an HP TouchSmart and my vision-based table.
Both computers have Windows 7 32 bit and Surface Workstation SDK.

Is someone else having this problem?

 Signature 

Making of my Multitouch Table

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 09:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-06-14
Total Posts:  18
New Member

Wow !!!

Very nice, Daniel.

 Signature 

The new Touch are Multitouch…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 10:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

i promised you a feedback : amazing work Danny, work perfectly with my setup, I will finally be able to create some apps with the SDK I can play with…
tks man…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 02:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-11-22
Total Posts:  529
Elite

like geirms said i have same problem too but in all apps. after a while app crashes need to closing and return to the home page. s.times surfaceshell.exe also crashes.

 Signature 

my 19” LCD setup ----> turned into new look
my 60” FTIR setup (old video)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-08-24
Total Posts:  24
New Member

My problem is for all apps to. If I take it easy and use just one finger (slow) then everything seems to work ok, but if I use several fingers and tap rapidly the apps crash almost instantly.
Nothing crashes when I use the mouse.

 Signature 

Making of my Multitouch Table

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-07-14
Total Posts:  819
Elite

do you have stack trace for me?

 Signature 

HID Multitouch driver for Windows 7 http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-08-24
Total Posts:  24
New Member

No.

But I can try to give it to you if you give me instructions..

 Signature 

Making of my Multitouch Table

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 August 2009 02:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-07-14
Total Posts:  819
Elite

try following. after you get window with a message “.... crashed”. don’t press any buttons on it. start task manager, switch to processes tab. find the process that is crashing and right click on it. select “create dump file”. next will comes a message where it saved the file. send me this file.

 Signature 

HID Multitouch driver for Windows 7 http://multitouchvista.codeplex.com/

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 6
1