1 of 7
New Tuio as3 library (TCP & LocalConnection)
Posted: 18 October 2009 01:40 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2009-10-18
Total Posts:  43

Hi, my name is Immanuel Bauer and I am currently studying Mediainformatics at the Technical University in Vienna, Austria.
As a part of these studies I am working on my bachelor thesis which is about how Tuio tracking data could and can be transmitted into Flash in a faster and more convenient way than the common TCP/XML method.

So with the help of Georg Kaindl, Martin Kaltenbrunner, Dean North and Johannes Luderschmidt I wrote a Tuio library for as3 completely from scratch.

The main features currently are:
- ByteArray based
- support of TCP and LocalConnection transfer
- full OSC parser that could be used separately
- legacy support -> class for TouchEvent dispatching
- therefore it is easy to port old projects to the new library
- callbacks much like in the Java TuioClient api
- extendability
- modular design

We are also presently working on a new event model to replace the TouchEvent for good.

more info on the library and two articles on how to use it on my blog:
http://bubblebird.at/tuioflash/

current release of the library (including a demo) can be found here:
http://code.google.com/p/tuio-as3/downloads/

This is an initial release to generate feedback for further development so please use it for testing purposes only.

Georg Kaindl has written a simple UDP-to-LocalConnection bridge which you can find here -> http://gkaindl.com/software/udp-flashlc-bridge
Also the current svn version of Martin Kaltenbrunner’s SimpleSimulator and Georg Kaindl’s Touché tracker should support LocalConnection.

Have fun taking the library for a spin and tell me what you think.

Edit: Georg Kaindl has also uploaded a video on his bridge and what the LocalConnection fuss is about wink

Posted: 18 October 2009 03:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-04-08
Total Posts:  2539
Dedicated

Interesting. smile