ir leds don’t seem to work
Posted: 28 December 2009 04:34 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

hello
i linked one of my ir leds into a 5 V power supply and using an infrared camera i don’t see it shine
i pointed a remote control to the ir camera and it did shine i even linked a normal led and it shines
is the problem coming from my leds
should i ask them to replace them for me ??

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 04:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-08-18
Total Posts:  47
New Member

ah, bad news for you!, what kind of IR Diode do you have, i have atleast not seen any that have higher voltage than 2.

So first guess from me is, you burned it.

if it is the correct voltage, then check if you have connected the cambles correctly.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 04:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

sorry buddy for your loss, i’ve never ever seeen an IR diode or led that can stand that,,,connect at least 3 of them to that voltage

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

thank you for the answers but i tryed whith an other led and with 1.5 v and it did not work either

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

check for the probs of the led...make sure that the positive and negative probs of the led are connected correctly to the power source...and i have a que. how much is the current of the power source how many mA???maybe its over the max power input of the led and its burnt...just a guess ...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

i double cheked for the probs and the power supply has 1000 mA

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

here is the leds data sheet
http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/infineon/1-ld271.pdf

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

wow...thats way too much...most probably the max. current of your led would be 100mA u have to use resistors to decrease the current if you have a size AA battery try to connect a new led to it and check if it works or not

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

the forward current of your leds is 130mA, wave length is 950nm...what camera are you using?and if your using ir band pass filter are you sure its not blocking 950nm? for the leds you have to use resistors goto http://ledcalc.com and see what resistor you need…

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

i have just plunged a new one whith an AA battery but it does’nt work

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

thats weird, knowing that you have double checked for the probs, i actually don’t wut else would be the problem,assuming your using new leds not the old tested ones check for battery try another one, else there shouldn’t be anything wronge and it should work

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 December 2009 05:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

thanks i will check with them tomorow

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2009 03:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-25
Total Posts:  13
New Member

i went to the store today and they found that the leds he gave me are ir led recevier and not transmitter thanks a lot for your help yesterday

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 December 2009 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-12-15
Total Posts:  40
New Member

loool....anytime buddy,,,u should kill them for that rasberry

Profile