1 of 2
3D Multi-touch Table - GSoC Idea
Posted: 30 March 2010 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2010-03-23
Total Posts:  17

Hello everyone smile To start I would like to introduce myself. My name is John-Nicholas Furst, I am an engineering student at Boston University. I wanted to get some feedback on my project idea before submitting the official proposal later.

Note this is just a first draft of the project, I will be adding the more nitty gritty deals to the proposal at a latter date (probably tomorrow) I am just so excited and interested in feedback that I wanted get something down in the forums to get started.

The first part of this project is to replicate a setup somewhat similar to a Microsoft Secondlight.

If you are not familiar with this research project, I will quickly describe it here. Think of a Microsoft Surface, now add the feature of the table being able to project images onto opaque objects held above it. Now this is hard to picture until you see it, but basically this allows for layers of information.

There is the display on the surface of the table, and this invisible secondary display above the surface that only becomes visible when there is something there to diffuse the light enough to capture the image instead of letting it just go up into the air.

Now if that was not already enough of a challenge hardware and software wise, I want to up the ante and make the entire thing 3D.

So this basically would involve having a second set of projectors calibrated on the surface, and having all of the projectors have the proper polarizing filters to make it pump out beautiful 3D.